City of Seattle

Seattle is a charter city, with a mayor–council form of government, comprised of seven district and two at-large councilmembers. All city offices are officially non-partisan. Like some other parts of the United States, government and laws are also run by a series of ballot initiatives (allowing citizens to pass or reject laws), referenda (allowing citizens to approve or reject legislation already passed), and propositions (allowing specific government agencies to propose new laws or tax increases directly to the people).

  • Located in District 5, Victory Heights is directly represented by Councilmember Debora Juarez. Elected in 2015, Councilmember Juarez has served Seattle for over 25 years in a variety of capacities.
  • Elected in 2017, Teresa Mosqueda fills City Council at-large position #8, representing Victory Heights, along with the rest of our region. Councilmember Mosqueda chairs the Finance and Housing Committee, and serves as Vice Chair of the Land Use & Neighborhoods and Labor Committees. 
  • Elected in November of 2021, Sara Nelson fills City Council at-large position #9, representing Victory Heights, along with the rest of our region. As a lifelong environmentalist and Green Lake resident, Councilmember Nelson may be best known as the co-founder of Fremont Brewing. 
  • Elected in November of 2021, Bruce Harrell serves as the Mayor of Seattle. Mayor Harrell served three terms on City Council, led the city’s COVID-19 Small Business Recovery Task Force; and worked in private practice to expand affordable housing for low income Seattleites; mentor small businesses and community groups; and improve access to education for all.  

Regional Government

King County Council

Located in King County, Victory Heights is represented by the Metropolitan King County Council, the legislative body of King County, consisting of nine members elected by district. Its current name and structure is the result of a merger of King County and the Municipality of Metropolitan Seattle, better known as Metro, which was a federated county-city structure responsible for water quality and public transportation.

  • Our district has been led by Council Chair Rod Dembowski since February of 2013, who has a strong focus on the environment, transportation, and addressing income inequality. 
State Legislature

Victory Heights is located in the 46th Legislative District of the State of Washington, represented by Senator David Frockt and Representatives Gerry Pollett and Javier Valdez.

Federal Government

Victory Heights is situated in Washington’s 7th congressional district, along with most of Seattle, Burien, Vashon Island, Lake Forest Park, Edmonds, Shoreline, and Normandy Park. The 7th is the most Democratic district in the Pacific Northwest, and the most Democratic district on the West Coast outside of the San Francisco Bay Area and Los Angeles. It is also the most Democratic majority-white district in the United States, being dominated by Democrats at every level of government, routinely winning elections by well over 70% of the vote.


Voting in Victory Heights couldn’t be any easier. King County automatically mails candidate information packets to all residents before every election, and mail-in ballots three weeks before each election. Ballots can be returned by mail, or to one of the many conveniently-located drop-boxes around King County (Victory Heights’ closest drop box is 1.4 miles away at the Lake City Branch of the Seattle Public Library, at 12501 28th Ave NE, Seattle, WA). Watch this short video to learn how to vote in King County, and follow this link to register to vote.